

SCHOOL BOARD GOVERNANCE WORKSHOP Charlottesville-Albemarle Technical Education Center Auditorium Friday, January 14, 2022 (11:00 AM)

1.1 Call to Order: School Board Chair Lisa Torres called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

2.1 Roll Call of Board Members:

The following Board Members were	Mr. James Bryant	Ms. Lashundra Bryson Mosberger
present:	Ms. Emily Dooley	Dr. Sherry Kraft
	Ms. Jennifer McKeever	Mr. Dom Morse
	Ms. Lisa Torres	
The following Board Members were absent:	None	
The following Staff Members were present:	Dr. Royal Gurley	Ms. Leslie Thacker
The following Staff Members were absent:	None	

3.1 <u>Approval of Proposed Agenda</u>: Ms. McKeever a motion, seconded by Mr. Bryant, to approve the proposed agenda. Upon a roll-call vote being taken, the motion carried with Mr. Bryant, Ms. Bryson Morsberger, Ms. Dooley, Dr. Kraft, Ms. McKeever, Mr. Morse, and Ms. Torres voting yes. 7 ayes, 0 nays

Items for Discussion

4.1 <u>Charlottesville City School Board Governance Workshop</u>: Dr. Brad Draeger and Ann Monday, Associates with Hazard, Young, Attea & Associates, led the Board Governance Workshop with Charlottesville City School Board members. Items discussed included:

- Opening: Introductions, Agenda Review, Questions
- Discussion: Center for Public Education Eight Characteristics of Effective School Boards
- Discussion: Results of the Board assessment survey— areas of strength and areas for growth
- The Board's Relationship with the Superintendent, Operating Protocols:
 - Board Superintendent Communications
 - Board Meetings/Calendar
 - Superintendent Evaluation
 - The Board asked that Ms. Dooley and Dr. Kraft review the School Board Duties, Protocols and Expectations and Superintendent Evaluation documents and make appropriate recommendations/revisions for Board review.
- Board Takes Responsibility for Itself:
 - Board's Working Agreements

- Board's Code of Conduct
- Board Evaluation
- Summary of the Day, Next Steps
- **5.1** <u>Adjourn</u>: The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Lisa Torres, School Board Chair

Leslie Thacker, Deputy School Board Clerk